Our Team

Team members


We would like to introduce the members involved in our projects.  Clicking on the name of the person involved will direct you to their personal webpage.



Tine De Moor

Principal Investigator


Ton Duffhues

Postdoc Researcher


Fijnanda van Klingeren

Postdoc Researcher


Véronique De Herde

Postdoc Researcher


Damion Bunders

PhD Candidate


Karoline Heitmann

PhD Candidate


Pieter Steenbergen



Yifei Ma

PhD candidate


Max de Vriend



Maaike Smid

Research communicator


Grant Halliday

Research intern


Marianne Groep-Foncke

Research Officer


For more background information on our team members, read our series of interviews.

Affiliated researchers


Underneath you will find - in alphabetical order -  a list of our affiliated and visiting researchers and the projects and reserach themes they are involved in. Clicking on their photos or names will guide you to their personal webpages. More information on the respective projects or research themes can be obtained by clicking on the names of these projects and themes.


Thomas Bauwens, Assistant-Professor at the Copernicus Institute for Sustainable Development, Utrecht University.

> Social Enterprise

Frédéric Dufays, Assistant-Professor Faculty of Economics and Business and coordinator of The Centre of Expertise for Cooperative Entrepreneurship, KU Leuven, Belgium 

Vicente Cendrero, PhD candidate, University of Castilla - La Mancha

> Research Theme on formation of institutions for collective action



Jonathan Fink-Jensen, Researcher, European Univeristy Institute (Florence, Italy)

> Cooperating in care

Amineh Ghorbani, Assistant Professor, Delft University of Technology

(Faculty of Technology, Policy and Management)

> Formation of Institutions for Collective Action

click for personal webpage

José-Miguel Lana-Berasain, Profesor Titular of Economic History and Institutions in Public University of Navarre (Iruña-Pamplona, Spain)

> NWO-Project "Common Rules"

> Research Theme on regulations of ICA's


click for profile page

Fernando Largo Jiménez, PhD Candidate, Autonomous University of Barcelona (Barcelona, Spain)




click for profile page

Montserrat Prats López, Assistant Professor of Information Science, Open University of the Netherlands

click for profile page Romina Rodela, Researcher, Södertörn University (Stockholm, Sweden)

click for profile page

Angus Winchester, Professor of Local and Landscape History, Lancaster University

> NWO-Project "Common Rules"

> Research Theme on regulations of ICA's 



Former team members / affiliated researchers


Underneath you will find links to our former team members and former affiliated researchers, who contributed to the research and results of our research projects.


> Kleoniki Alexopoulou

> Winny Bierman

> Anita Boele

> Annemarie Bouman

> Sarah Carmichael

> Elwyn Davies

> Corry Gellatly 

> Jan Hornix

> Eline Karlas

> Jolien Reijerink

> Charlotte Störmer

> Annelies Tukker

> René van Weeren

> Charlotte Witte

> Linda de Veen

Carolien Veldsink

> Eva Vriens

> Jaco Zuijderduijn


We are of course also grateful for the contributions made by other colleagues. A full list of contributors can be found here.


 Our Mission Statement


Our team focuses on the development of institutions for collective action, which are institutions that are built and managed by the stakeholders themselves in order to tackle certain problems. In literature the repertoire of collective action is usually limited to the large-scale mass movements that could often make their points only by recourse to riots, demonstrations, or forms of mass violence such as peasant revolts (McAdam, Tarrow, and Tilly, 2001). With this research we want to broaden the perception of collective-action-historians by also including institutionalised forms, such as guilds and commons. Sociologists and political scientists have made extensive studies of the internal workings of similar institutions in modern societies, mainly in Third World countries. These studies show that self-governance is an important key to the long-term survival of these institutions (Ostrom, 1990).